Bruges: My chocolate and beer heaven

After visiting Bruges last month, a very appreciated birthday present from my parents, im still mesmerised by the beer, frites, chocolate and waffles. It’s left me with a taste for more (my mouth is watering at just the thought).

After arriving and having all the faf of finding the hotel (apparently I’m not the best map reader) we were starving and set out to find lunch. We ate at one of the many restaurants in the main Markt square, I’d normally go for something a bit more ‘off the beaten track’ but as we were only there for a couple of days I felt we should have the full feel. It was club sandwiches all round which to be honest were not great for the 14euro price tag but they filled a hole and the view of the bell tower was worth it.

image image image image

Next, my favourite part one word: beer. We tried a few places but for a day beer a definite try is the duvel cafe which is just upstairs in the museum on the main Markt square. The duvel is reasonable and the surroundings are amazing, the outside area looks right over the square. Great for me as I could partake in my favourite activity, people watching.

imageimageimage
Looking around I had definite beer envy of other drinkers beer tasting boards. We just had to come back the next day to have one ourselves which definitely did not disappoint.

image

Then came the waffles, well you can’t come to Belgium and not have a one. We had one topped with caramel and one with chocolate and cream which we shared. Oh my christ, they were amazing.

In the evening we ate just off the square; after much indecisiveness between the Bruges beef stew in pale ale and mussles in white wine sauce I decided on the mussles. Looking round and seeing everyone gorging on these giant saucepans full of them I couldn’t miss out. And I didn’t, I ate nearly all of them (which was a lot) and left very satisfied. The boyfriend went for steak (for a change) which was also a delight.

image

We had after dinner mojitos the craving for beer set in and we set off on a beer mission, well when in belgium. After, traipsing round in search for a typical beer cafe my boyfriend noticed by chance a place down a side street. The pub- the place to be were offering over 100 beers, we were in. Were chose about 6 different beers between us throughout the night and shared all. The favourites were pajais and mango beer, which I’ll be trying to track down at home.

imageimage

With bellies full of beer I only had one thing in mind, frites and that was it my heart was set on it. We visited a frites shop which look like your typical fast food place but that it wasn’t. For one everything was made to order which was just making me hungry and impatient!! But we waited and can I say, it was well worth it. My food highlight of the whole weekend!

The next day was home time, gutted. After another day of beer and frites (yes, round 2) there was only more thing to do, chocolate shopping. There was only one thing, I didnt bloody buy enough.

imageimage

So there it is my little foodie trip of bruges. It is definitely one of the most amazing places I have ever been I recommend everyone to go, I can’t wait to go back. It has left my craving more. I need to find beer, frites, chocolate and waffles this good at home!

Oh and just a couple of pictures from our canal tour, a definite must.

imageimage

7 thoughts on “Bruges: My chocolate and beer heaven

  1. I loved Bruge, too, and would go for one of their fab waffles as well. Turns out you can make them easily at home once you get the knack – we added lime and coconut to ours this morning. Delicious!

    Like

  2. I can so relate to your travels which include searching out great beer. I think that is where my real love of learning about beer began. What struck me is how much you learn about a culture through the food … and the beer. Especially when drinking and eating with the locals. By the sounds of it, you got to experience more of Bruges in those moments of moules et frites and eating chocolate. A great experience indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment