Eating Out: The Common Room

I was very wrong in thinking that The Common Room on Devonshire Street, Sheffield was just a pool hall, it is in fact home to some of the best American food and Cocktails I have ever had.

After a long week at work all I wanted on a Friday was a couple of drinks (or maybe a few) and some good food so headed to my favourite street and it did not disappoint.

wpid-20140801_185932.jpg

What to eat: As I am one. very indecisive and two. like to have a bit of everything we chose a mixture of starters/ sides and sharers. Pulled pork and burnt ends were good, you can definitely taste the benefit of the in-house smokers but I must say the stars of the show were the mac & cheese and shredded beef philly cheese topped fries. The cheesyness of the sauce was just amazing (as a cheese fanatic myself this is a must!) and the fries were just what I needed.

What to drink: The evening was started with a pint of local ‘guest ale’ which never fails to hit the spot. Then after dinner it was time for dessert cocktails, a mojito never fails then it was gin time with a Gin Ting which was like nothing I’d ever had before with ginger beer and lemongrass, wow. Needless to say after these I was on happy (and very full) bunny.

When eating here make sure you sit in the bar area ‘booths’ the atmosphere is spot on and as the night gets later you get a laugh from the wobbly after work drinkers. I also must say I was very impressed with the condiment offering, alongside the Hendersons (seeing this always makes me a happy girl) there was also offerings of favoured BBQ Sauces which I’m pretty certain were homemade. I lathered my food in Chipotle BBQ sauce which had all the flavour of the chipotle and a slight heat, winner!!

If you like good American food or just want a decent drink (or both in my case) I would definitely recommended coming here, I’ve been a couple of times now and was very impressed.

Leave a Reply

